Autumn Criminology School

Ireland’s first ever residential Autumn Criminology School for Doctoral Researchers will be held at the stunning location of Blackwater Castle in Co. Cork on the 25th to the 30th of September 2016.

The residential Criminology School will be led by highly esteemed Irish and international criminologists with input from key policy makers and NGOs.

Funded by the Irish Research Council the School aims to:

  • Create a space in which criminologists at all career stages can engage in knowledge exchange, theory testing and methodological debates;
  • Create an interdisciplinary, inter-institutional network of criminological researchers that connects PhD students, with early career and advanced researchers;
  • Better articulate the importance of innovative, multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary and comparative approaches to research;
  • Foster an understanding of the importance of creating and sustaining links between criminological research and social policy by providing a forum for researchers and policy makers to meet and discuss common priorities.

Activities on each day will be related to one of five key themes including: (a) Theoretical frameworks and Literature; (b) Methodology; (c) Publication and Career development; (d) Interdisciplinary, Multidisciplinary and Comparative Approaches and (e) Policy Implications. The School will also feature a number of themed Roundtable Discussions on topics including: Public Criminology, White Collar Crime; Intersections of Policy and Research.

Keynote Speakers

Prof Kristel Beyens, Vrije Universiteit Brussels

Prof Pat Carlen, University of Leicester

Prof Fergus McNeill, University of Glasgow

Prof Shadd Maruna, University of Manchester

Prof Ian O’Donnell, University College Dublin

Prof Phil Scraton, Queen’s University Belfast


Further Confirmed Speakers:

Dr Lorraine Bowman-Grieve, WIT

Dr Michelle Butler, QUB

Dr Nicola Carr, QUB

Dr Geraldine Cleere, WIT

Dr Vicky Conway, DCU

Dr Clare Dwyer, QUB

Dr Diarmuid Griffin, NUIG

Dr Claire Hamilton, NUIM

Dr Deirdre Healy, UCD

Prof Shane Kilcommins, UL

Prof Ursula Kilkelly, UCC

Dr Siobhán McAlister, QUB

Dr Niamh Maguire, WIT

Dr Aogán Mulcahy, UCD

Dr Mary Rogan, TCD

Dr Mairead Seymour, DIT

Dr Jennifer Yaeger, WIT


Places are limited: For further details and information on how to apply visit:


Leave a Reply